Not Too Old To Go Back To School

 

Teacher-welcome-back-to-school

Written by Jenni Lovins

“What? You’re too old to go to school!” was the first thing my five-year old told me as I informed my two boys that I was starting school in a few weeks.  My eight year old son answers his little brother with an annoyed, “Anyone can go to school!”  He then looked up at me and said with a questioning look, “But why would you want to do that, Mom?”

I explained to my boys that now that they were both in school all day, I wanted to do something different with my days.  You see, since the minute I found out I was going to be a mom, I wanted nothing more than to get to spend as much time as I could with that little person God had given us.  I wanted to be the one to mold my children into the people they would become.  I didn’t want to pay someone else to do what I wanted to be doing.   I wanted to be the one to put them down for naps, to feed them ice cream for the first time, and see them take their first steps.  I wanted to hear their first words and to dry their tears.  I loved being a stay at home mom and my husband was great enough to support me in this choice for so many years.  We filled our days with park picnics, swimming, karate, play dates, bike rides and going to meet their dad for lunch as often as we could.  Now my boys were in third grade and kindergarten and I was not giving in to that babyurge to keep me home another five years!  It was time for a new chapter for mama!

My husband asked me one evening last fall, “Have you ever thought about being a real estate agent? You’d be great at it, you know everyone!” He got my wheels turning. . . Would I be good at selling houses? I know I’m good at organizing kindergarten class parties, community fundraisers and coaching little baseball players, but could I be good at helping people with one of the biggest financial decisions of their life? I took some time to think it through, talked about it, prayed about it and then one day, I enrolled at American Dream Real Estate School (sounded pretty amazing!).  I managed to finish the course, pass the test, find a broker who wanted to take a chance on me, and on December 2, I received my Colorado Broker License in the mail!  I still get to pick my kids up from school almost every day, be there for the class parties, and help them with homework in the evenings. I know life will get crazier as I get busier, but for now, this new chapter is pretty amazing and I truly appreciate getting to work with alongside another mom who understands and relates to this chapter of my life and shows me every day that I can be both a good mom and successful.

 

 

One thought on “Not Too Old To Go Back To School

  1. Jenni thank you for also making the decision to be a REALTOR. By becoming a REALTOR you have set yourself on the path of success!

    Like

Leave a comment